E4A L1 Unit 1 Please call me Beth

很愛改講義的潔西又稍微改了一下講義。厚,真累,一個半小時的課,改講義改了兩個多小時,暈倒暈倒。好餓啊。昨天沒吃宵夜結果早上起來頭又痛了,不知道是天氣變還是沒吃宵夜,然後胖了0.5公斤,天理何在?呵呵,說說而已,體重本來就會一直變。繼續加油!下面的格式亂掉了,要下載可以到最後面Google Docs連結下載,假如有很認真想預習的同學。吃飯去!

E4A Interchange 1 L1 Unit 1 Please call me Beth.    Jess Lin     P.1






  1. Getting to know each other

Some possible topics

a. personal details  b. family   c. work   d. study   e. free time

f. last holiday  g. future plans  h. studying English   i. home


  1. Is this your first class here?  Yes, it is. I’m a bit nervous.

No, it’s not. I was in Jessie’s E2 class.

Why do you study English?  I want to study abroad.

  1. What do you do?   I’m an engineer.

Where do you work?  I work for HTC.

  1. Are you a student?   Yes, I am.

Where do you go to school?   I go to Chinese Culture University.

What grade are you in?   I’m a freshman. / I’m in my first year.

What’s your major?  My major is Business Administration.

  1. Do you live around here?  Yes, I do. /Not really. I live in Chungho.

How do you get here?  I ride a scooter.

  1. Do you live with your family?  Yes, I live with my parents.

No, I live in the school dorm with my classmates. I’m from Taichung.

  1. What do you do in your free time? I surf the Net and play mahjong.


  1. Classroom Language
  2. Can you speak more slowly?                   可以說慢一點嗎?
  3. Can you speak louder?                           可以說大聲一點嗎?
  4. How do you say this word?                    這個字怎麼念?
  5. What does this mean?                          這是什麼意思?
  6. How do you spell that?                          這個字怎麼拼?
  7. Excuse me. Can you repeat that?          不好意思,可以再說一次嗎?
  8. How do you say that in English?            那個字的英文怎麼說?
  9. What’s the answer for number 4?        第四題的答案是什麼?

9.  You go first. / I go first.                      你先。/ 我先。

10.  Your turn. / My turn.                           該你了。/該我了。

11. Whose turn is this?                              該誰了?

12. Wait a moment.                                    等一下。

13. Excuse me for a moment.                    失陪一下。

14. Whose book is this?                            這是誰的書?

15. Can I borrow your pen?                       可以跟你借筆嗎?


E4A Interchange 1 L1 Unit 1 Please call me Beth.    Jess Lin     P.2

C. 現在簡單式Present Simple    



一. 使用時機:現在簡單式多用在表達事實或習慣。現在簡單式的句型可細分為一般動詞與be兩種句型。幾乎每個英文句子都要有主詞跟動詞,所以當描述現在的事實狀態時,假如句子沒有一般動詞,有名詞,形容詞,介系詞片語,副詞等時,則需要有現在簡單式的be,也就是am, is, are。

.現在簡單式 be的句型

1. 肯定句

主詞+現在式be +名詞/形容詞/介係詞片語

S +    be1        +noun/ adjective /preposition phrase

I       am            an English teacher.

You     are           awesome!

My father   is             at work.


2. 否定句 : 否定句只要在be後面加not

S +   be1  +  not +  noun/ adjective / preposition phrase

I       am        not    a Japanese teacher.

You     are       not    strict.

My mother   is        not    at home.

3. Yes/No 問句 : 把be放在主詞前面造問句

be1  +   S       +   noun/ adjective / preposition phrase

Am       I                      late?

Are       you                   the only child?

Is      your mother        from  Tainan?

4. WH問句:將WH疑問詞放在最前面再放be、主詞與其他部分

WH             be1   +    S  +   ( noun/ adjective / preposition phrase)

Where        am          I?

How old      are      your parents?

What          is       your hometown like?

When          is        your birthday?

Who 與 What 這兩個疑問詞可以當主詞

Who is there?          What is on the table?


I am from Taiwan. / I come from Taiwan. 這兩句都可以。

但是不要說 I am come from Taiwan. 這是個錯誤的句子。

E4A Interchange 1 L1 Unit 1 Please call me Beth.                  P.3

D. Fill in the blanks with am, is, are, or what, where, when who, how.

  1. ____ you busy?                                 Yes, I’m busy.
  2. _____ is your English class?           It’s very interesting.
  3. ____ Taipei an exciting city?           Yes, it’s an exciting city.
  4. _______  are  your parents?              They’re at home.
  5. ____  your last name Chen?             No, my last name is Lin.
  6. _____   is Jess?                            She’s my English teacher.
  7. What ____  your classmates like?  They’re friendly and helpful.
  8. _______ is  Taipei like?                   It’s lively and convenient.
  9. ____  you a hardworking student?   Yes, I’m a hardworking student.
  10. What ____  your hometown like?     It’s quiet and beautiful.
  11. _______   I late?                            No, in fact, you’re early.
  12. ____  is your father?                       He is good. Thanks.
  13. ____    your teacher friendly?          Yes, she’s friendly.
  14. Where ____  you from?                    I’m from Taipei.
  15. ____  your best friend from I-lan?      No, he’s from Kaohsiung.
  16. ____  you free after class?              Yes, I am.
  17. _______   is your birthday?             It’s on July 25th.
  18. ____  your favorite subject math? Yes, my favorite subject is math.
  19. ____  your mother from Taoyuan? Yes, she’s from Tao-yuan.
  20. Who ____  your best friend?           My best friend is Tom.


E. 慣用語 1

1. .After you.                                                  你先請
2. A promise is a promise.                               答應了可別反悔喔! …promise 承諾
3. Are you telling me?                                     用得著你說嗎? (你在教訓我嗎?)
4. Behave yourself.                                         乖一點! …behave 表現好

5. Be my guest.                                               我請客 (直譯: 當我的客人)

6. Come on!                                                     算了吧! (來吧!)

7. Count me in!                                                算我一份 (我也參加)

8. Do something, please.                                 快想點法子!
9. Make up your mind!                                   拿定主意吧!
10.I won’t let you down!                                我不會讓你失望的!…down 沮喪的

E4A Interchange 1 L1 Unit 1 Please call me Beth.                  P.4

F. Small Talk   from Tactics for Listening Unit 13

  1. Getting Ready

Read these expressions. How do people use them in conversation? Check the correct answer

Greeting someone Ending a conversation
1. Keep in touch.
2. How have you been?
3. Well, it’s been nice talking to you.
4. How’s everything?
5. Hope to see you again.
6. Well, talk to you later.
7. Hello. Nice to see you again.
8. Hey, how’s it going?
9. I haven’t seen you for a long time.
10. It’s been great seeing you again.


Can you write two more sentences for greeting someone and ending a conversation?







  1. Let’s Listen

Listen to the conversations. Is each person greeting someone or ending a conversation? Check the correct answer.

Greeting someone      Ending a conversation












E4A Interchange 1 L1 Unit 1 Please call me Beth.                  P.5

G. Small Talk    Audio Script     2. Let’s Listen

1. Oh, hello, Bob. I haven’t seen you in ages. How is everything with you

these days?

2. It’s been great seeing you again. Gee, look at the time. I’ve got to run.

Talk to you later.

3. How are you, anyway? It’s so nice to see you. What have you been doing


4. It’s been really nice talking to you. Let’s get together again soon, okay?

5. Oh, hi. I’ve been thinking about you. I haven’t seen you in such a long

time. How’s everything?

6. Where have you been? It’s been ages. How’s it going with you?

7. Listen. I hope to see you again soon. Let’s have lunch sometime, okay?

8. How have you been? And how’s your family? It’s so nice to see you again.


H. Find someone who

Can you +V1….?     Do you +V1…?  Are you + noun/adj/prep phrase/adv…?   can  是個表能力的助動詞,疑問句時放主詞前,後接動詞原型

do/does  是用在現在簡單式句子中有一般動詞時的助動詞。疑問句時放主詞前,後


am/is/are 是現在簡單式的Be動詞,當句子裡有名詞,形容詞,介系詞片語,副詞


  1. Can you play a musical instrument?
  2. Are you afraid of cockroaches?
  3. Do you ride a scooter to work?
  4. Can you sing very well?
  5. Do you usually chat online?
  6. Do you have a pet?
  7. Are you into Korean dramas?
  8. Can you do 20 push-ups?
  9. Do you drink coffee every morning?
  10. Are you very happy today?
  11. Do you have an interesting job?
