E4A L3 Unit 3 How much is it? 050212



E4A L3 Unit 3 How much is it?                     Jess Lin            P.1








A. Warm-up Questions

1. Do you like shopping for clothes? Why?/Why not?

Yes, I love shopping for clothes. It’s a lot of fun. I like trying on new

clothes. It’s a good way to kill time.

No, I don’t. It’s too much trouble.

2. Where do you usually buy clothes?

I often go to the department stores, but sometimes I buy clothes from

street vendors. 路邊攤

3. Do you shop online? Why?/Why not? What do you buy?

Yes, I like to shop online. It’s usually cheaper and more convenient.

I also buy clothes, books, and electronic products on line. 電子產品

4. When do you do grocery shopping? 採買生活用品食品雜貨

I do grocery shopping on weekend. I go to Wellcome supermarket on

Sunday afternoon.

I never do grocery shopping. My mother does that for my family.

5. How much do you spend every week?

I spend about 2,500 dollars every week. I spend most money on food, drink,

and transportation.


B. Colors

1.black 黑色   2. white 白色   3. red 紅色   4. blue 藍色     5. green 綠色

6.brown咖啡色  7. yellow黃色  8. gray灰色  9. orange橘色   10. purple 紫色

11.pink 粉紅色  12. gold 金色  13. silver銀色 14. khaki卡其色 15. beige 米色

  1. dark gray 深灰色 17. light gray淺灰色

1. What’s your favorite color?

I like blue.

2. What does your favorite color make you think of?

It makes me think of the blue sky.

3. What’s your least favorite color?

It’s black.

4. What does your least favorite color make you think of?

It makes me think of death

E4A L3 Unit 3 How much is it?                     Jess Lin            P.2

C. Clothing List

1. a hat 帽子 2. a cap 棒球帽 3. earrings 耳環 4. a necklace 項鍊
5. a tie 領帶 6. a scarf  絲巾 7. a ring戒指 8. a bracelet手環
9. a shirt襯衫 10. a T-shirt T-恤 11. a blouse女上衣 12. a sweater毛衣
13.a jacket外套 14. a coat 大衣 15. a suit西裝 16. a dress洋裝
17. pants長褲 18. jeans牛仔褲 19. shorts短褲 20. a skirt裙子
21. shoes鞋子 22.sneakers運動鞋 23. boots靴子 24. high heels高跟鞋
25. a belt 皮帶 26. gloves手套 27. socks襪子 28. a swimsuit泳裝



D. Giving compliments 讚美

A: I love your shoes. How much are they?

B: They are $999.

A: That’s reasonable.

A: I like your necklace. How much is it?

B: It’s $20,000.

A: Wow. That’s expensive.


E. Group discussions

1. Do you have a brand bag?

Yes, I have a few brand bags. a Gucci bag, a Louis Vuitton bag, and a Coach bag.

No, I don’t. I can’t afford brand bags. They are too expensive.

2. Do you always wear jeans?

Yes, I do. I love jeans. They go with everything and every color.

Not really. They’re not so comfortable. I don’t like the material.

3. Do you have more than ten pairs of shoes?

Yes, I do. I have about 30 pairs of shoes.

No way!  I have three pairs of shoes. That’s it.

4. Do you usually pay with a credit card?

Yes, it’s really convenient. No, I don’t. I’m a student. I don’t have a credit card.

5. What do you wear to school or work? I have to wear a uniform.

6. What do you wear to a wedding?  I usually wear a suit. / I like to wear a dress.

6. How many watches do you have?  I have only one watch. That’s enough.

7. What color clothes do you usually wear?

I like to wear blue jeans, blue dresses, blue shirts.

I think I look good in blue. / I think blue look good on me.

E4A Interchange 1 L3 Unit 3 How much is it?    Jess Lin         P.3

F. Listening

Tactics for Listening Unit 18 Shopping

3. Let’s listen (Page 71)

Task 1  Customers are talking to salespeople in a store. Do the customer make a purchase? Listen and check the correct answer.


1. ___ yes ___ no   2. ___ yes ___ no   3. ___ yes ___ no

4. ___ yes ___ no   5. ___ yes ___ no   6. ___ yes ___ no

7. ___ yes ___ no   8. ___ yes ___ no


Task 2  Listen again. What do you think the clerk says next? Circle the correct answer.

  1. a. Okay. It’s $37.50 with tax.   b. Let me know if you need any help.
  2. a. You’re welcome.              b. Cash or credit?
  3. a. You’re welcome.              b. Can I show you something else?
  4. a. Why not?                    b. Okay. Let me know if I can help you.
  5. a. Let me put it in the box for you.    b. Let me check.
  6. a. Great! Let me know if I can help you.  b. Great! I’ll ring it up for you.
  7. a. Let met know if you need help.  b. How many do you need?
  8. a. Would you like to pay with cash?  b. We may get more next week.



G. How to bargain 如何殺價:

It’s not exactly what I want, but how much is it?

Is there a discount by cash?

Could you do a better price for me?

Is that the best price?

Could you reduce the price for me?

How about taking a bit off?

How about 40?

Would you take 40 for it?


Done! 成交

Sold! 賣了




E4A Interchange 1 L3 Unit 3 How much is it?    Jess Lin         P.4


A: Could I help you with anything today, ma’am?

B: Well, I really like this blouse. Do you have it in another design?

A: Yes, we do.

B: Great! I’ll take it, then.


A: Do you need any help, sir?

B: Yes, actually, I do. These are a small and they’re too tight. Do you have a


A: Yes.

B: Great! I’ll take them.


A: These are the most beautiful watches in the store.

B: They really are nice. How much is this one?

A: It’s $2,500. Would you like to buy it?

B: No, thanks. It’s too expensive for me.


A: Need any help this morning?

B: No, I’m just looking around for some gift ideas, thanks.


A: Those are really nice dresses.

B: Yes, they certainly are. I love the design. Do you have one in a size 12?

A: Yes, we do. Would you like to take it?

B: Yes, please.


A: Do you need any help?

B: Yes. I want to buy a shirt for my husband. Do you have anything in cotton?

A: Yes, we do. Look at these.

B: They’re perfect! I’ll buy the gray one.


A: Good afternoon, ma’am. Can I help you find anything?

B: Oh, I’m not sure what I want. I’ll just look around for a while, thanks.


A: May I help you with anything or are you just looking?

B: I’d like these green gym shorts, please. Do you have them in a large?

A: I’m afraid we don’t.

B: Oh, that’s too bad.

E4A Interchange 1 L3 Unit 3 How much is it?    Jess Lin         P.5


Clerk店員: A    Customer顧客: B


A: Can I help you?

B: I’m just looking, thanks…

Excuse me. Do you have this T-shirt in a smaller size?

A: What size is that one?

B: Large.

A: I’ll have a look. …Yes, here is a medium.

B: OK. Can I try it on, please?

A: Yes, sure. The fitting room’s over there.

B: Thank you. …

A: Does it fit?

B: Yes, it’s fine, I think. How much is it?

A: It’s $24.99.

B: OK. I’ll take it.

A: How would you like to pay?

B: Do you take credit cards?

A: Sure. … Check the amount and sigh here, please.

Thank you. Here’s your credit card and your receipt.

B: Thanks very much.

A: Have a good day!



A: Can I help you?

B: I’m just looking, thanks…

Excuse me. Do you have these sneakers in a smaller size?

A: What size are those ones?

B: 38.

A: I’ll have a look. …Yes, here are size 38 sneakers.

B: OK. Can I try them on, please?

A: Yes, sure. The fitting room’s over there.

B: Thank you. …

A: Do they fit?

B: Yes, they’re fine, I think. How much are they?

A: It’s $24.99.

B: OK. I’ll take them.

E4A Interchange 1 L3 Unit 3 How much is it?  Jess Lin            P.6


I.Materials 材質

1. plastic 塑膠  2. gold 金 3. silk  絲  4. wool  羊毛  5. leather  皮革

6. cotton 棉 7. silver 銀  8. rubber  橡膠  9. polyester  聚酯纖維


J.Comparisons with adjectives  形容詞比較級

在比較兩個人,事,物,地等時 (N1與N2) 可以用形容詞的比較級來作比較。此時形容詞比需用比較級,常見句型如下。特別注意,後面有比較的對象N2時,必須有than,假如比較對象省略,就不須than。


   N1        be adj-er/more adj than N2

Tainan          is        cheaper          than   Taipei.

Taipei          is    more expensive        than   Tainan.

The weather     is       hotter         today.




cheap-cheaper, warm-warmer, clean,-cleaner, tall-taller


nice-nicer, safe-safer, close-closer, late-later


big-bigger, hot-hotter, sad-sadder, slim-slimmer


pretty-prettier, friendly-friendlier, funny-funnier, happy-happier


expensive-more expensive, stylish-more stylish, handsome-more handsome


good-better, bad-worse, far-farther/further, little-less




    N1  be as  adj   as   N2

My father   is     as   tall   as    my mother.

Your shoes   are    as  good  as    mine.

E4A Interchange 1 L3 Unit 3 How much is it?  Jess Lin            P.7


L.20 Questions

  1. Do you prefer sunny days or rainy days? Why?

I prefer sunny days because I feel sad on rainy days.

  1. Which one do you prefer, summer or winter? Why?

I prefer summer because I can go to the beach and have a lot of fun.

  1. Which city do you like better, Taipei or Kaohsiung? Why?

I like Taipei better because I grew up here.

  1. Are you taller than your father?   No, I’m shorter than my father.
  2. Is your mother heavier than you?   Yes, she’s heavier than me.
  3. Is Taipei more expensive than Tokyo?  No, Tokyo is more expensive.
  4. Are your shoes more stylish than mine? No, your shoes are more stylish.
  5. Is A-mei more attractive than Lin Chih-ling?

No, Lin Chih-ling is more attractive.

  1. Is the dog faster than the cat? Yes, the dog is faster than the cat.
  2. Are men smarter than women?  Men are as smart as women.
  3. Is Taipei more convenient than Tainan?

Yes, Taipei is much more convenient.

  1. Are sneakers more comfortable than boots?

Yes, sneakers are more comfortable.

  1. Is English easier than Japanese? Yes, it’s much easier than Japanese.
  2. How much is your wallet? It’s NT$2,000.
  3. How much are your shoes? They’re $299.
  4. How much is your cell phone? It’s $20,000.
  5. How much are your glasses? They’re $5,000.
  6. Is pink a good color for you?

No, it’s not. I never wear pink. /Yes, I look good on pink.

  1. Who is more handsome, Tom Cruise or Tom Hanks?

Tom Cruise is more handsome.

  1. 20.  Do you prefer 7-11 or Family Mart? Why?

I prefer 7-11 because it has a wide variety of goods.







E4A Interchange 1 L3 Unit 3 How much is it?  Jess Lin            P.8

M. Useful Expressions

  1. How are you doing?  你好嗎?

A: How are you doing?

B: Not very good. I got a cold.

  1. I have had enough!  我受夠了!

A: I have had enough!

B: Why? What did he do?

  1. Let’s call it a day.  今天到此為止吧!

A: Let’s call it a day! I’m so tired.

B: All right.

  1. Not again!  不會吧!

A: Everyone’s late.

B: Not again!

  1. Knock it off!  住手/不要吵!

A: Knock it off. I’m trying to study.

B: Sorry, I didn’t know you’re studying.

  1. Good night.  晚安!(道別時)

A: Good night, everybody.

B: Good night. Have a sweet dream.

  1. Of course.  當然

A: Could I borrow your car?

B: Of course.

  1. Be careful on the road.  路上小心!

A: Be careful of the road. It’s getting dark.

B: OK.

  1. You decide.  你決定吧!

A: Do you want the black tie or the red one?

B: You decide.

  1. Never mind.  沒關係。

A: I’m sorry that I broke your cell phone.

